Menu plan: Week October 30th

No fun pictures to share today.

I usually try a few new recipes each week. The downside is sometimes I try things I don’t like, such as this stir-fry. This week, however, I know I’m going to be tired and busy. So, I’ll be playing it safe in the meal department and mostly making meals I’ve made many times before and don’t have or need recipes for. As always, I’ll be mixing vegetarian with meat dishes, unhealthy comfort food with healthier meal options.

In the fridge: chipotles en adobo, 1 jalapeno, hummus

In the pantry: quinoa, rice

In the garden: basil

Saturday- Greasy chinese food. I was too tired to cook and wanted to fill my body with lots of junk food after a long long day. Weights in morning, trip to Napa to visit family, 2ish mile hike up hill, Costco for dog food and Halloween candy, C0-op for food, car cleaning. Oh and J’s car broke down. I managed to remember everything on my shopping list, but finished the evening off by leaving some eampty bags in my shopping cart and driving home. 

Sunday-Halloween party with friends. I feel super guilty not making anything, but my Aunt’s caretaker made me a pineapple pound cake that I shouldn’t eat by myself and a bunch of crackers. Guess what I’ll be bringing?

Monday-Corn and cheese chowder and salad. I’ve tried to make corn chowder before and was less than happy with it. I’m hoping this time around it goes better as I will be using fresh corn and lots of cheese.

Tuesday-Turkey burgers w. chipotle sauce and kale chips. Have I mentioned that I’m obsessed with kale chips? 

Wednesday-Gouda skillet mac ‘n cheese and salad.

Thursday-Chipotle pork, quinoa, roasted cauliflower.

Friday-Pesto roasted root vegetables and side of chipotle beans.

Reflections: I am going to make good use of the leftover chipotle by putting them in three meals.  Loving all the seasonal vegetables. I’m looking forward to cauliflower, kale, lettuce, turnips, and summer squash. I am also looking forward to pomegranate in my salad and lots of apples. Nom

Happy Halloween and all that!

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Menu Plan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

