Beef and Green Onion Skewers

In my last post, I talked about an amazing pomelo salad I made. Now I’m going to share the recipe for the beef skewers I served with it. I love grilling. And haven’t been able to give up eating meat just yet. Williams-Sonoma’s Essentials of Asian Cooking has consistently good Asian-fusion meals. I’ve made this recipe multiple times and it does not disappoint.

Beef and Green Onion Skewers

Seves: 4-6 (In what world!? J and I might have eaten entire recipe for dinner…)

  • 1/3 cup tamari soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp dark soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp mirin
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp peeled and minced fresh ginger
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • pepper
  • 1 lb beef tenderloin cut into 1-inch cubes (tenderloin is too expensive so we used top sirloin)
  • 10 green onions
  • canola oil for grill
In a glass bowl, combine soy sauce, mirnin, garlic, ginger, sugar, and pepper. Add the beef cubes and coat. Cover and refrigerate for 2 hours to overnight.

Soak skewers (recipe says 16; I used 5) in water if you are grilling. After 30 minutes, drain.

Set fine mesh strainer over a medium sauce pan. Pour beef and marinade into strainer to collect marinade. Set aside meat. Bring saucepan to a boil over medium heat and cook until thickened, about 2 minutes.

Make skewers by alternating meat and green onions.

Grill as desired.Remove from grill brush with reduced marinade/sauce.

Enjoy!

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Asian, Dinner, Meat and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

