Asian Pomelo Salad

A couple of weeks ago, my boss brought in three shopping bags full of pomelos. If you don’t know what a pomelo is, it is a citrus of Asian origin. They have a nice tangy, grapefruity flavor without the bitterness. (Grapefruits are actually a hybrid between a pomelo and an orange.) Anyway, if you haven’t had one before, I definitely recommend picking one up. They are quite tasty and a fun challenge to peel.

Since pomelos are rather rare at markets, I took home a bunch. And then I realized that the likelihood of J and I eating all of them straight was rather low. So I set about finding a recipe. This one looked good besides the mint. (I will only tolerate mint ground up in chutney or ice cream.) Since the salad was Asian inspired, I decided to go to my Williams-Sonoma collection to find an appropriate main dish (green onion and beef skewers).

A+ and five gold stars for the meal. The salad was so good! It had just the right mix of sweet and sour. I left out the mint and added cilantro instead which turned out well. (Cilantro and carrots says Vietnamese to me as it makes me think of Banh Mi.) My only complaint was that it was a bit mushy the next day so the flavor was a bit diluted and the texture a bit off. But I guess that is to be expected from juicy fruits. So eat this salad fresh! I’m definitely saving this recipe and making the salad again should pomelos come my way.

 Pomelo Salad

adapted from Appetiteforchina.com

Serves 6

2 medium pomelo*
1 cucumber, cut into matchsticks
2 to 3 teaspoons salt
1 carrot, cut into matchsticks
3 shallots, thinly sliced
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 cup cilantro*
1/4 cup chopped, roasted peanuts

Dressing
2 tablespoons fish sauce
1 1/2 tablespoon fresh lime juice
1 tablespoon water
2 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons chili garlic sauce + dash of sriracha*

1/2 tsp canola oil

*ingredient additions

Peel and remove white skin from pomelo. Then separate segments into bite size pieces.

Cut cucumber into slices. Toss with salt. Set aside for 20 minutes then drain.

Meanwhile, cut carrots.

Mix together the ingredients for the sauce. Set aside.

In small frying pan over medium heat, warm oil. Add shallots and saute until soft and brown about 3 minutes. Add garlic and cook another minute. Remove from heat and cool.

Toss all ingredients with dressing to coat. Sprinkle with peanuts and serve.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Asian, Dinner, Salad and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Asian Pomelo Salad

  1. Pingback: Beef and Green Onion Skewers | Origins of the Cook

Leave a Reply

