Menu: Week of July 9th and Feather Falls

This is Feather Falls. It is 410ft tall and less than two hours from my house. Isn’t it pretty? I didn’t even know it existed until a week or two ago. Good thing some friends took J and me hiking there. Despite the hot weather, I think we all had a fun 9 mile hike/photography session. Jake had fun too. He didn’t even notice that I dressed him up. (I made him carry his water, treats, and poop bags. Such a hard life!) Why is it that dogs are extra cute in clothes/gear?

 J went and looked over the falls. Scary.
On to the food.

The theme this week is zucchini. My garden is flourishing and we have more zucchini from two plants than we know what to do with. Okay, maybe we don’t have that much, but we do have quite a few. Doesn’t that one look funny?

We also have japanese cucumbers and beans, but they are far less abundant.

In the fridge: Smoked gouda, cheddar (leftover from last week), parmesan, tortillas, salsa.

In the pantry: Rice

In the garden: Zucchini, green beans, cucumbers, basil, cherry tomatoes.

Saturday-Dinner at friends. Black bean sliders, potato salad, homemade funnel cake of our hosts. I made lemon blueberry cupcakes. I’ve been drooling over them for weeks. Blueberries aren’t in season anymore, but I caved and made them anyway. The cupcakes were just okay but the cream cheese frosting with lemon zest and fresh blueberries was to die for. I almost had frosting and blueberries for breakfast, but settled on half a cupcake instead. =)

Sunday-Beef and green onion skewers with a pomelo, carrot, and cucumber salad. My boss brought in three shopping bags full of pomelos last week. I took a bunch home and decided that I had to do something other than eat them plain. I did a google search and settled on the first recipe I could find that did not have shrimp in it. As for the beef skewers, well they are asian inspired and I thought they’d go well with the salad.

Monday-Panini with smoked gouda, basil, and grilled zucchini. I usually do something spicy with chipotle and peppers, but I decided to go with something cool and make good use of leftover gouda and herbs/veges in the garden. I may or may not serve this with a side of sliced cucumbers and tomatoes. 

Tuesday-Vegetable stirfry. Not much to be said here besides gotta use up the zucchini and beans. Doesn’t hurt that we already had rice in the pantry.

Wednesday-Quesadillas? I can’t find my menu plan… Since there are tortillas in the freezer and leftover cheddar and salsa in the fridge, it seems likely that I’d planned to do something with them.

Thursday-TBD. I may go out for drinks/appetizers with friends from work. I’ll probably snack too much and spoil my appetite for dinner. J’s on his own. If I don’t go out, I’ll pick up something simple like bread and cheese.

Friday-Pasta with tuna, zucchini, parsley, and herbs. I’m running a race the next day and wanted something simple that was carb-heavy and wouldn’t upset my stomach. 

Cost: $86 I could have gotten away with $70, but alcohol (or meat or snacks) gets me every time. I bought mirin to marinate the beef in and a bottle of red wine just in case.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Menu Plan and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Menu: Week of July 9th and Feather Falls

  1. falselogic says:

    We are doing fajitas on Wednesday. Veggie fajitas

  2. cookingcampus says:

    Fajitas! I knew there was another meal with squash! Hahaha

  3. Melissa says:

    almost all my zuchinni are that funny shape. I don’t quite know what happened.

  4. Pingback: 50 Breathtaking Waterfalls Around the World [Part 1] | Ultimate Places

Leave a Reply

