Menu Plan and how I’ve failed to keep mid-year resolutions

Remember back in January when I decided to give up meat and processed sugar for a month? Well, that went very well. Last week was my rest week after half marathon training. I was feeling rather cranky. While that was mostly due to schedule change, I decided that while I was mixing things up, no time like the present to improve my diet. So, I decided to give up sugar for another month.

Last time, I only fudged my ‘diet’ once because a coworker made a pie in a dutch oven in my backyard and I couldn’t pass that up. This time, I lasted two days. I ate two slices of banana bread and two Riesens today, mostly because they were there. Note to self-keep all sugar out of sight and will be good to go. 30 days and counting.

Last weeks meals were mostly vegetarian and staying on budget. This week…um…lots of meat and $20 over budget, probably because of snacks, meat, and wine. Bad! The only processed item was a can of chicken broth and chipotles in adobo. So on the plus side lots of veges from Cali (radishes, lettuce, spinach, asparagus, brocollini, carrots) and very few processed food. On the minus side: meat, meat, and more meat.

In the fridge: 4 cups chicken broth, half a lemon.

In the pantry: rice, barley.

Sunday-Barley and broccoli casserole with salad.

Monday-Chipotle chicken quesadillas.

Tuesday-Indian spiced fish and rice.

Wednesday-Pasta with bacon and spring vegetables.

Thursday-Grilled pork chops with homemade flatbread and steamed spinach.

Friday-Vegetable risotto.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Menu Plan. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Menu Plan and how I’ve failed to keep mid-year resolutions

  1. Patty says:

    Do you count honey and apple juice concentrate as sugar? I had a piece of nearly unsweet strawberry/rhubarb pie yesterday. The filling had the consistency of jelled applesauce, the bottom crust was made with Healthy Balance shortening, and the top was granola. Not my idea of pie, but good tasting nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

