The end of the Winter Garden and Menu Plan

It’s been warm for a few weeks. Seeds for summer were planted. Other seedlings were purchased. And since the raised bed was in need of fertilizer and more soil, J and I decided that it was time to pull the leafy greens.

Spinach:

Real baby carrots:

Arugula:

The washing station:

And here is the celery kicking it in the almost emptied garden:It is hearty enough to deal with any soil turning, and it doesn’t take up too much space. I have no idea what I am going to do with all of it. I’ve looked into pickling, but I am not sure that I like celery that much.

That pretty much sums it up… Lots and lots of leafy greens to eat this week. And baby carrots for lunch snacks.

Here is what I had on hand to incorporate into meals:

Garden: Spinach, arugula, carrots, celery, chard.

Leftovers from last week: A cup of cooked garbanzo beans, goat cheese, 3 radishes, 2 green onions, and a little lettuce

Menu Plan

  • SundayGrilled beef, spinach salad, celery with goat cheese, and french bread. This is going to be the first grilling of the year. We’ve had wonderful weather for the past week, and I couldn’t wait to have a fire. Although it is sunny today, it is super windy. I doubt it will be nice to sit outside.
  • MondayArugula salad with red potatoes, green onions, feta, radishes, and carrots.
  • TuesdayVegetable stir fry. Chard, garbanzo beans, carrots, celery, and tofu (I found some in bulk!) over brown rice.
  • WednesdayFour cheese ravioli with spring vegetables (asparagus and greens). I couldn’t pass up the organic asparagus, even at $6/lb. I was going to make pesto, but there was no basil from CA at the market. I think I’ll toss everything in lemon, parmesan, and crushed red pepper.
  • ThursdayBreaded fish with a side of cooked spinach and rice.


About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Green, Home, Menu Plan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

