Cheese Making: photographs, not recipes

I’m kind of on a ‘do it yourself’ kick. First there was beer and then dreams of sourdough starter, yogurt, and cheese. I probably should have started off with something fast, but I decided to make cheese instead.

A friend told me about a cheese workshop. A local cheesemaker was having an open house. For $30, she would provide molds, cultures, and knowledge. Oh and did I mention yummy homemade cheese and wine!? All you had to do was buy the milk and bring a big pot. No experience required.

I was a little hesitant to sign up because I had never made cheese before. I was told that for my first time I should probably make feta, camembert, or brie. J was bummed because he wanted to make cheddar. (I’m glad I didn’t because I am not the patient type and five months is a long time to wait to taste my first batch of cheese.) I am fairly omniverious when it comes to garden variety cheese, but since J doesn’t like feta, I selected brie.

I’m not going to post a recipe because I’m not altogether sure how my cheese will turn out. And it was very long. Here are some pictures I took during the workshop.

First you heat the milk.

And then you add the cultures and wait. Curds and whey will fold. Them you cut them. I am pretty sure there is a technical term, but… Bonds form. Bonds are broken.

Curds are separated from the whey. The whey can be used to make ricotta, but I used it to fertilize my garden instead. The curds are put into molds and drained overnight.

The cheese is removed from molds, salted, transferred to a sealed, dry container. It is flipped daily.

It’s been a week now. The cheese appears to be okay, but it is perhaps too early to tell. I guess I’ll have to wait to update for another three weeks. I will say that even if this batch does not turn out, I want to try again. I do not think it is practical for me to make cheese on a weekly basis (I’d need a second fridge and a 4 hr block of time every two weeks), but it was still a lot of fun.

 

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cheese Making: photographs, not recipes

  1. Melissa says:

    NICE! I’ve only made ricotta, which only takes 5 minutes. I don’t think I would be patient enough to wait weeks for my cheese!

  2. cookingcampus says:

    What did you do with your curds? I thought about making ricotta from the whey, but I wasn’t feeling it after a morning spent cheese making.

  3. Patty says:

    The cheese looks and sounds wonderful. I really hope it matures well.

    I once made yogurt cheese from homemade yogurt. I think I put the plain yogurt in cheesecloth, squeezed it, and let it drain overnight. I think it resulted in a cottage cheese-like substance that tasted pretty interesting on toasted bagel. My friend added herbs to hers. I forget. I even forget how to make yogurt, something I did every week for years. The prep took about 15 minutes, the quart jars sat in a pot of water set on ‘Lo’ stovetop overnight. If I made my own yogurt I could sure save the world from a lot of plastic containers.

Leave a Reply

