‘Big Daddys’

 

Big Daddy’s are much like a tostada, but on a deep-fried flour tortilla.  If you haven’t fried a flour tortilla yet, I highly recommend it.  The tortillas get all golden and puffy and tastes amazing.  I could eat them, and I have, but it is much better if you add beans, cheese, and salsa too.  Bean burritos are a staple around my house.  They are super fast and relatively nutritious.  Frying tortillas takes no time at all, and it adds a little twist to what can sometimes become a bland meal.

My husband introduced me to Big Daddy’s when we first met.  While we both share in the cooking, there are a couple of meals that I do not make (tacos and fried tortillas to name a few).  This is his mother’s recipe so it only seems fit that he make them.

RECIPE

  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 4 flour tortillas
  • 1 can refried beans (I used Rosarita’s)
  • 4 oz cheddar cheese, grated
  • Garnish: lettuce, cilantro, green onions, tomatoes, and El Pato

Heat canola oil in frying pan over medium heat until the oil shimmers.

Fry tortilla until golden brown and crispy.  Transfer to a plate with paper towels and pat off excess oil.

Heat beans.

Assemble and enjoy!

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Mexican. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

