Menu Plan: Week of Oct 23rd

When asked what my favorite time of year is, I’d have to say it is a toss up between Summer and Fall.  While I love summer fruit-berries, peaches-and of course the weather, I have to say that I am obsessed with Fall food.  It is hard to beat mulled cider, apple pie, soup, and fresh baked bread.  There is something magical about sitting inside on a rainy day with a cup of tea in hand and something delicious baking in the oven.  It’s even raining right now!   No tea though.  I’ll save that luxury for after my walk in the rain.

Even though I haven’t been blogging, I’ve been cooking up a storm.  Porcini bread pudding, pumpkin muffins, apple cake, chili, corn bread, minestrone, garlic knots, cinnamon rolls, etc.  I’m pretty sure I am trying to fatten up for winter.  Keep with the Fall theme, this week’s menu is all about comfort food. And not following recipes.

*******

Saturday: Chili and fresh baked bread.  Need I say more?  I don’t really have a staple chili recipe.  I just buy three kinds of beans and throw in whatever veges I have in the fridge.  This week there will be white beans, pintos, and kidney, as well as celery, carrots, and cilantro.

Sunday: Ham, veges, home fries, and pumpkin cupcakes.  Pumpkin is one of my favorite seasonal flavors.  I can’t seem to get enough of it.  I’ve even started feeding my dog a spoon full of pumpkin with dinner.  He loves it.

Monday: Brats with a side of cooked spinach.  Last week I made a fancy version of pigs in a blanket (think philo dough and swiss cheese deliciousness).   I have a lot of sauerkraut leftover.  Since I don’t like to leave food in the fridge too long, brats simmer in ale over a bed of sauerkraut seems like a logical way to make use of the leftovers.  J is not terribly happy as we just had brats last week at a local Oktoberfest, but I can’t wait.

Tuesday: Eating out.  Most likely greasy chinese food. *explodes* We are having friends over for game night.  There is no way I can work, come home and prepare snacks (humus, cut veges, and mulled cider) and get dinner together before 630 when the guests arrive.  I suppose I could have cooked something over the weekend, but that would have taken more planning.  And I needed to relax a little.

Wednesday: Spinach stuffed pasta shells and salad.  I haven’t actually made this meal before, but I keep seeing it around.  You can’t go wrong with ricotta, eggs and red sauce.

Thursday: Turkey pesto panini with chard. This is my go to meal when I need something fast.  Maybe I’ll throw on some spinach.  I bought three bunches this week.  Nom nom nom.

Friday: Minestrone.  And perhaps biscuits.  Maybe I’ll blog about it if I haven’t already.

 

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Menu Plan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

