Menu Plan: Week Aug 8th

Green tea muffins are in the oven and jello is setting in the fridge; the kitchen is clean and all meals are planned and shopped for.  I should be working on lab meeting, but instead I am blogging and baking.  Yes!  When I want to procrastinate I don’t watch tv, I bake or chop up vegetables: today a cantaloupe.  It is actually quite productive because I refuse to eat fruit unless it is peeled, chopped, etc.  Sadly I cannot eat said fruit right now because I have food poisoning.  I probably shouldn’t eat the muffins either, but I might have eaten one or two just to make sure they are safe.

This week is also sad because I picked up my last CSA box for a while.  I don’t remember if I blogged about it, but I’ve decided to cancel my CSA subscription.  *tear*   The double load of veges is just not working.  I’ve started giving them away because I can’t stand to see them wasting away in the fridge.  Being educated about in season produce and being forced to cook with veges that I normally wouldn’t pick up at the market has been a great experience.  I’ll miss planning meals around a set list of menu items.

The theme this week is less than 30 minute meals (15 minutes prep time is even better).  Because J is working 24-7 this month, I’m home alone without someone to cook for.  While I love food, I don’t enjoy making elaborate meals for just myself.  I’d rather spend the time hanging with the dog or reading.

CSA Box: Cucumer, peaches, onions, tomatoes, sweet corn, potatoes, melon, green beans, basil

Garden: Eggplant, tomatoes, cucumbers, and hot peppers.

*********

Sat: Meat and grilled corn on the cob with a side of caprese salad.  The grill takes forever to heat up, but the actual prep time is minimal.  Super easy to marinate meat and chop up some tomatoes, cucumber, mozzarella, and basil.

Sun: Quesadillas w/ salad.  Gotta use up those tomatoes and cucumbers.  I think I have three bags of tomatoes sitting in the fridge and more ready to be picked outside.  I better start canning.

Mon: Couscous salad (couscous, white beans, eggplant, hot peppers, tomatoes, caramelized onions, and basil) with a side of corn.  I think I’ll serve the salad warm with a lemon and olive oil dressing.

Tues: Pasta with homemade white sauce, ground turkey, and green beans.

Wed: Roasted potatoes and BLTs.  The roasted potatoes will take about an hour, but only 5 mins or so actually requires me to be in the kitchen.

Thurs: Grilled pork, corn on the cob, and spinach.

Friday: I’m headed up to Tahoe for my bday .  I think we are having pizza.  J can’t come because of work.  Sad.

*************

Rachel Ray would be proud.  Or maybe not.  (None of these meals are from her cookbooks.)  There aren’t any new meals this week or even meals from cookbooks.  Everything is just going to be thrown together from what I have lying around the house.

*The picture of Jake was ‘borrowed’ from my housemate.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Menu Plan. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Menu Plan: Week Aug 8th

  1. MELISSA says:

    3 bags of tomatoes!!! send me some! Tomatoes JUST started coming in at the farmer’s market. I’ve only gotten a few cherrys off my own plants. Today was also the first day it was hot.

    If you haven’t canned before, do it! You’ll fall in love and become addicted and keep buying Ball Jars even if you don’t need them.

  2. cookingcampus says:

    we have started giving them to the neighbors. i have two cherry plants, two romas, and two heirloom. they’ve been producing for a few months now. i’d love to get into canning, but i do not have equipment. is it expensive?

Leave a Reply

