Menu Plan: Week June 18th

,The theme this week is easy, quick meals with minimal cooking  to leave me lots of time to spend outside.  It is beautiful here: 85-90F weather.  I spent the weekend gardening (trellising vines, transplanting roses, and weeding), playing with puppies at the dog park, berry picking, working out, and playing games.

CSA Box: Green beans, potatoes, garlic, squash, carrots, cherries, strawberries, peaches, apricots, beets.

****************************

Sat:Bread, cheese, and fruit kind of thing.  There was hummus and carrots, french bread and smoked mozzarella, cherries, strawberries, and coconut cookies for dessert.

Sun: BBQ with friends.  We brought simple potato salad.

Mon: Pasta with hot Italian sausage and green beans. Side salad.

Tues: Salmon with side of chard from garden and rice.

Wed: Fajitas.  No in season/local veges in this one.  But I have a bunch of tortillas lying around, and I have to use them up somehow.

Thurs: Pork chops with side of summer squash.

Friday: I’m hoping for a date night.  =P  I need an excuse to get dressed up once in a while.  (I’ve been wearing gym clothes almost every day now b/c I get so sweaty biking to work.  The upside is I don’t feel as dirty; the downside is I don’t feel cute.)

*******************8

In other news, my garden is still thriving.  The squash is growing everywhere and the tomatoes are ridiculously big and covered with flowers, but no fruit.  The beans aren’t do so well after a large wind storm.  The cucumbers look happy and are covered in flowers.  A couple of weekends ago my mom and I staked the cucumbers, egg plant, and edamame.  J and I are loving having a garden.  I wish I had 6-8 more boxes and and a couple of fruit trees.  =)  Here are some pics!

Do we love the red cups filled with beer aka slug traps?

Fruit damn it!

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Menu Plan. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Menu Plan: Week June 18th

  1. Patty says:

    I think that tomatoes will set more fruit, and drop fewer flowers (a) if you water them less (for less vegetative growth), (b) if you spray the flowers with tomato hormone spray, and/or (c) you sprinkle some lime on the soil over the roots. You have the chemistry set to test the ph of the soil, don’t you, and therefore the correct acid/alcaline combo for tomatoes? Once you ‘get’ how to grow tomatoes in your particular soil and climate, it works every year. Tomatoes can go much longer without water, once established, than anything else in the garden. Cucumbers, on the other hand, require lots of water. Water doesn’t drain through soil sideways, so if you’re careful, you should be able to accommodate both in the same raised bed. You can always fortify watering troughs by walling up watering basins by hand, to control how water pools in a small growing bed.

Leave a Reply

