Garlic ginger flank steak and vegetable skewers

Love love love grilling.  I just about have enough wood left for one more fire/grill night.  I must get more wood because I would like to continue my weekly tradition of grilling at least one night a week (especially now that it is beautiful and sunny).

My mom was visiting for the weekend so I wanted to make something delicious but relatively easy.  I had flank steak leftover from Korean rice bowls so I decided on another Asian-inspired recipe featuring flank steak.  I did not grill seasonal veges as there was nothing grill worthy in my box this week.  It might be entertaining to put fava beans or arugula on a skewer, but I did not want my dinner to turn into a large flaming mess.  Instead I grilled meat, zucchini, bell pepper, red onions, and green onions.  The zucchini and red onions were local and the marinade featured very potent green garlic from my CSA.  I served the kabobs alongside rice and a kale-cabbage side.

Kabob-like meals are really easy to throw together which is nice because it give you extra time to enjoy the fire.  Chop the veges and meat and throw it is a big bag or bowl with marinade.

After a while (2 hours maybe), everything is skewered.

I didn’t bother arranging things in order of cooking time nor did I bother to get out my metal cooking untensils from the camping box.  (This was a mistake as the presoaked bamboo skewers still managed to catch fire.  We didn’t loose anything.)

All in all the meal turned out very well.  And there was even enough leftover for lunch the next day.

*******

RECIPE Serves 4-6

SKEWERS

  • 2 lb flank steak, sliced
  • 1 red bell pepper, cut into thick strips
  • 1 green bell pepper, cut into thick strips
  • 3 zucchini, 1″ chunks
  • a bunch of green onions, white part cut into 2″ lengths; green part can be finely chopped and added to marinade.
  • 1 red onion, quartered and separated

MARINADE

  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 4 tbsp sake
  • 3-4 tbsp white sugar
  • 5 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1-2 tbsp fresh ginger, thinly sliced
  • black pepper

Mix marinade ingredients in a small bowl and set aside.  Adjust sugar and pepper to taste.

Cut up meat and veges according to preference and place in large bag or bowl.

Add marinade and thoroughly coat meat and vege mix.  Place in the fridge and let stand for at least two hours.

Meanwhile, soak skewers (if using wood) for at least 30 minutes in water.

To assemble skewers, alternating meat and veges.

Grill until meat cooked and veges are tender.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in American, Dinner, Meat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

