Soft Pretzels

Perfection!  Crunchy on the outside and soft in the center.  Topped with sea salt, brushed in garlic butter, and dipped in mustard….  I could go on and on.  But I won’t.  I’ll leave you with a picture.

I’m not sure why it took me almost two years to make these after getting my stand mixer.  Sure I’d made bread.  Cake.  But pretzels seemed a bit daunting.  Maybe it was the boiling step.  After a few failed dumpling attempts I have a fear of boiling dough.  But do not fear, the pretzels do not in fact dissolve in boiling water.  Win!

I suppose you could make these by hand, but it is so much easier to throw in the stand mixer.
The fun part is rolling the dough into long thin ropes.  Reminds me of better days when I was in preschool and making play dough snakes.  J’s and I had dough shaping contests.  He won as his ropes were much more uniform than mine were.  Clearly he had more practice as a little child.  I’m sure pretzels would be a blast to make with little kids.
Shaping is a bit more challenging, but I’d say that at least 3/4 of the pretzels turned out alright.

And then there is the boiling.And the baking.  And voila, about 8 golden brown and puffy pretzels.  The hard part is keeping your hands off them.  I think I ate at least 3 in an hour.  Watch out, they are surprisingly filling.  It may not be a bad thing to eat them all in one day though.  While they are edible the next day, they are far better eaten fresh out of the oven.  They’d make a great appetizer at a luncheon or dinner party.

Alton Brown is not my favorite cook on food network.  I find him to be rather anoying, although the science behind each dish is rather cool.  His recipes are consistently good and easy to follow (even if some of them take a long time) so he is usually a go-to when I am trying out a new recipe.   While I do not have any other pretzels to compare to, my guess these are as good as any.  The recipe can be found at the foodnetwork website.  Enjoy!

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Bread and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Soft Pretzels

  1. falselogic says:

    We should make these again soon!

Leave a Reply

