America’s Test Kitchen Spicy Sausage Bake

Way back in Feb I posted a menu plan.  I took pictures of EVERY recipe intending to post them on the appropriate day.  But one thing led to another and I didn’t have time to post.  A month later, and I’m going to try again.  I probably won’t get past this post…  One is better than none right?

When it comes to grocery shopping, I just want to get in and get out.  I come in armed with my weekly shopping list, traverse the same path through the isles, and rush to the shortest line.  It isn’t that I don’t like shopping-I do-it is just that if I browse, I’ll end up buying something I don’t need.  These are usually expensive items like an extra bottle of wine or fancy cheese.  Also, I find markets to be rediculously cold.  Anyway, J is more prone to wander.  He does not feel guilty when he picks up an extra cookie.  At checkout, he browses the magazine rack.  He likes the political magazines, but also picks up cooking-themed items that I find appealing.  One day he showed up with American’s Test Kitchen.  I had never heard of it because I don’t watch TV.  The recipes had pretty pictures.  I was sold.


I think I made key lime bars first.  And then vodka pasta.  And then I came across the spicy sausage bake.  I’m not sure what drew me to it.  Maybe it was the sausage pepper jack cheese combo.  All I can say is that if you like pasta with creamy red sauce this recipe is to die for.  Pure comfort food.  I threw in some dino kale to spice it up a little.  I’m not sure that kale improves the healthfulness factor any, but it is okay to indulge in casseroles every once in a while.  =P  The best thing about the recipe is that it is easy and quick.

The recipe can be found here or copied and pasted below.

Ingredients

1 pound chorizo sausage, halved lengthwise and sliced thin
1 onion, chopped fine
4 garlic cloves, minced
3 cups low-sodium chicken broth
1 (10-ounce) can Ro-Tel tomatoes (see note)
1/2 cup heavy cream
12 ounces penne pasta
Salt and pepper
2 cups shredded pepper Jack cheese
4 scallions, sliced thin

Directions

  1. Adjust oven rack to upper-middle position and heat broiler. Cook chorizo and onion in large oven-safe skillet over medium-high heat until lightly browned, about 8 minutes. Add garlic and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.
  2. Stir in broth, tomatoes, cream, pasta, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/2 teaspoon pepper and bring to boil. Cover pan and reduce heat to medium-low. Simmer, stirring frequently, until pasta is tender, about 15 minutes.
  3. Off heat, uncover pan and stir in ½ cup cheese. Top with remaining cheese and broil until cheese is melted and spotty brown, about 3 minutes. Sprinkle with scallions. Serve.
About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Casserole, Dinner, Pasta and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to America’s Test Kitchen Spicy Sausage Bake

  1. Pingback: Menu Plan « Origins of the Cook

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan: Week of December 5th « Origins of the Cook

  3. Pingback: Menu: Week of November 11th | Origins of the Cook

Leave a Reply

