Banh Mi Sandwich

My old housemate’s boyfriend would often stop by with Vietnamese sandwiches from the bay area.  There were so yummy.  I’d eat the entire thing in one sitting.  I tried to find a restaurant in Davis that compared, but nothing measured up.  When they broke up and my sandwich hookup dried up, I kinda of forgot Banh Mi even existed.  I never considered making them at home because Asian cooking at the time seemed so complicated.

Flash forward three years.  Meatballs are advertised in my January Bon Apetit and there is a mouth-watering depiction of my sandwiches.  It is winter and I have carrots AND radishes.  Asian-inspired food is a weekly staple in my house.  And I have two drawers full of exotic spices.  More than 20 ingredients.  No problem.   Juicy meat, a perfect mix of sweet and spicy.  This recipe delivers.  The sandwiches even look pretty.  (And I am not one for precision in food presentation.)  While this recipe might have a daunting ingredient list, it is relatively easy.  Meatballs couldn’t be easier to make.  Pickling carrots and radish takes a bit of time but it isn’t hard per say.  Swap out the pork for ground turkey and soy mayo for the sauce to cut the daunting calorie count just a little.

The recipe can be found at here at Bon Appetit .    Mmmmm.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Lunch, Vietnamese and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Banh Mi Sandwich

  1. Patty says:

    The recipe doesn’t look all that long. I’d like to try this.

Leave a Reply

