Tempura

Fried food isn’t very photogenic, but it sure is tasty.  I got J a deep fryer for Christmas.  He saw it as we were walking through Costco.  I rarely fry anything for dinner, but he wanted it and it seemed like another fun appliance to add to our collection.  We decided to make Tempura first because it seemed easy: batter+veges+fry until golden brown.

We bought the Tempura batter in the Asian section of our local co-op. I suppose I could have made it as I have flour, salt, and corn starch in the kitchen at all times, but I was feeling lazy.  I didn’t want to mess up my first fried meal because of something silly like batter.  As for vege choices, we picked zucchini, bell pepper, potato, sweet potato, onion, broccoli and carrots. 

J did all the frying.  Onion rings, broccoli, carrots, bell pepper, and sweet potatoes get a big thumbs up.  We ate them as they came out of the basket.  As for dipping sauce, I mixed 1/4 tsp dashi with a cup of water, 1 1/2 tbsp sugar, and soy sauce to taste.  I will never tempura a potato again.  Too bland.    As for the zucchini, it was only so so.  For the most part the batter stayed on and the veges were cooked to perfection.

Was this recipe easy?  Yes!  The only trick is to keep the batter on ice at all times.  No splattering thanks to well dried veges.  As for the deep fryer, we kinda feel so so about it.  It doesn’t hold very much oil given its large size.  It is very hard to submerge anything all the way because the max oil level is about 1″ above the bottom of the basket.  Frying anything taller than an onion ring is slightly problematic.  Given the massive amounts of veges we chopped up, cooking in batches took forever.

Overall verdict=job well done.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Japanese, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

