Menu: Week on Jan 16th

I can’t believe it is already the middle of January.  I’m still trying to get my schedule back on track after the holidays.  Finding time for work, exercise, hubby, puppy, and me is hard.  I also joined a swim team and am now swimming for an hour 2-3x per week in the evening.  Growing puppies also need their daily exercise.  That means that on any given day I work for at least 9 hours, workout for 1-2 hours, cook dinner, and perhaps read or watch tv for an hour before.  (Exciting I know.)  I am still adamant about having a homemade dinner every night, but I don’t get home before 7 or 8 on any given day.  I don’t want to eat at 9pm like I’ve been doing for the past two weeks, so I’ve resorted to making a bunch of food over the weekend and freezing it for later in the week.  As I type there is lasagna in the oven.  Tomorrow I’ll make another casserole.  When planning meals one of my main concerns is is it reheatable.

I’m still keeping with the Asian theme.  This week I’ll be having a dish from India, Japan,and Thailand represent.  I’m also excited to try out the new deep fryer I got Jonathon for Christmas.  =)

CSA Contents: Mandarins, lemons, leeks, butternut squash, broccoli, spinach, potatoes, and carrots.

Sat- Tempura: Zucchini, onions, shrimp, sweet potatoes, potatoes, carrots, and broccoli.   Maybe I’ll serve it alongside rice or soup…  I’m not really using a recipe.  I’m hoping it isn’t too hard to batter and deep fry veges.

Sun-Chicken Tikka Masala with homemade Na’an and a side of broccoli.  The Chicken Tikka recipe is from America’s Test Kitchen.  The Na’an is from Williams-Sonoma.

Monday-Coconut chicken lemon grass soup.  This recipe is also from America’s Test Kitchen.  It is reminicent of Tom Kha Gai.

Tuesday-Spinach lasagna.  Family recipe.

Wednesday- Vegetable red curry.  This is adapted from my Williams-Sonoma book.  Didn’t really feel like beef.  I’ll probably throw in potatoes, bell pepper, and green beans.

Thursday- Spicy sausage and pepper jack cheese pasta bake.  America’s Test Kitchen.

Friday- Lemon sage orzo with butternut squash and a side salad.  Bon Apetite.

The meals are a little carb heavy, but I need them.

Here is to hoping that the power doesn’t go out in the huge storm we are supposed to get.  I’d hate for all hard work on weekend go to waste if my freezer fails..

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Menu Plan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

