Apricot Sorbet

IMG_1518With pounds and pounds of apricots arriving every week, I’ve been having to think of inventive ways to eat them (or at least store them) before they go bad.  Apricot crisps were getting mundane, so I decided to freeze them in the form of sorbet.  2lb of apricots turned into a pint or two of icy goodness.

I was impressed by my ingenuity, but not so much by the recipe.  The sorbet was a lovely consistency, but it was SWEET.  I made this recipe over two weeks ago and still haven’t eaten all of it.  I’ve even tried to pawn it off on guests.  They eat a few bites and then stash it covertly by the sink.  That is probably partially the fault of the apricots.  I should have known that there is huge variation in flavor.  I think the recipe has potential (who doesn’t like sorbet), but next time I’ll taste it as I add the sugar and perhaps throw in a little lemon or orange juice.

*************

Apricot Sorbet (from Annie’s Eats)

  • 2lb apricots (pitted and sliced)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup water   *taste your apricots…3/4 c. probably enough
  • a few drops almond extract

In a medium saucepan, bring water to a boil over medium heat.

Add apricots to water and cook over medium heat until apricots are tender (approx 10 mins).

Remove from heat and stir in sugar.

Let cool to room temperature and puree in a food processor until smooth.

Add almond extract and cool thoroughly in the fridge or freezer.

Freeze the mixture in your ice cream maker according to manufacturers instructions.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Ice cream. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

