Dinner Menu: Week of July 4th

Happy July 4th! Like so many other people, I’ll be grilling out by the pool today and then heading over to a park to watch fireworks tonight. I have 20 minutes until I have to start cooking so I thought I’d squeeze in a quick blog.

CSA contents: peaches and plums
watermelon
potatoes tomatoes
green beans basil
corn
cucumbers

Friday, July 3rd:
J took me out for sushi. =) Avocado and spicy tuna roll mmm. And then we came home and watched old movies and made interesting cocktails. I cut up a watermellon and mixed the pieces with lemonade, vodka, and amareto. It was very tasty and definitly a girly drink.

Today-BBQ at my place. I’ll be providing turkey dogs, potato salad (the recipe is compliments of J’s mom), watermelon, and apricot sorbet. I made the sorbet last week with leftover apricots. It is a bit too sweet for me, so I thought I’d pawn it off on guests. And because I’m bored, I might make some coconut tapioca pudding as well.

Sunday-Tomato/basil salad and lemon-herb chicken. For dessert I plan to make hand pies with all the delicious peaches and plums.

Monday- Battered shrimp and green beans. I found the recipe on a food blog and stared it because J loves ship. I’m not very found of seafood, but I figure anything deep fried can’t be half bad.

Tuesday- Smoked turkey and pesto paninis with a side of fruit. I’m running out of ideas for all the basil I’ve been getting.

Wed-Tofu/vegetable stir fry. I’m trying to eat less meat so hopefully I’ll be incorporating tofu in more meals.

Thursday- Bean burritos. It’s the end of the week so I get to be lazy.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Menu Plan. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dinner Menu: Week of July 4th

  1. pocketmouse says:

    im in love with tofu. im trying to incorporate it in my meals too. so far though, ive only had it with stir-fried veggies. need to see if i can make something else with it.

    • cookingcampus says:

      i used to batter tofu in nutritional yeast and fry it in butter. far from healthy, but if you like nut yeast, quite tasty. also you can try salad greek-like salad with tofu, tomatoes, cucumbers, basil, scallions, and balsamic or lemon vinaigrette.

Leave a Reply

