Menu Plans for the Week of June 20th

IMG_1495Agricultural fields after sunset.  This mediocre picture was taken on a walk through the Davis Greenbelt.  It’s a network of interconnecting parks that runs through Davis.  The north Davis portion is by far the most scenic, that is if you like looking out over flat land.  J and I go walking here often.  He used to live a block away from the greenbelt.  We’d go walking at the end of the day and always end up somewhere far away on a road flanked by fields.  Sometimes we’d walk in the wrong direction trying to find our way back.  I’ve learned now not to pick random roads and stay on paths I recognize.  I can’t wait to get an iphone…then I can really go exploring.

CSA box:

  • carrots
  • green beans
  • a couple of lbs of apricots
  • peaches
  • yukon potatoes
  • cherry tomatoes
  • cabbage
  • sweet corn
  • garlic

Friday: Green beans, pasta, and Alfredo sauce

Sat: It was J and my anniversary.  We made tabbouleh and then went out to a fabulous Czech restaurant (Little Prague) for drinks and princess cake.  If you don’t know what princess cake is, I highly recommend trying it.  Here is a description “White cake layered with raspberry filling, topped with our vanilla custard and whipped cream then crowned with rich Swiss Marzipan”.  Mmm.  J’s parents are coming to visit in Sept and we are going to take them there for dinner.

Sunday-Grilling over at a friends house.  I made the simplest thing I could think of with the ingredients I had on hand-Joy of Cooking lemon bars.

Monday-Gazpacho

Tuesday-Tacos!!!!!

Wed-Cabbage salad with grilled chicken and miso dressing.

Thurs-Big Salad

Friday-Pita pockets.

More simple meals, most of which don’t require much cooking.  (It’s getting hot and I don’t want to turn on the stove…)  I’m also taking a lot of workout classes (yoga M,W, Sun; pilates T,Th; cycling F; weights Sat, and some running in between).  Now that I get home every night at 7 or 8 PM, I don’t have much time to cook.  When it gets colder I’ll probably be less motivated, so you can expect more elaborate meals in about 5 months of so.  =)

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Menu Plan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

