Gazpacho-cold summer vegetable soup

IMG_1499

The AC is on and the windows are closed.  It isn’t even as hot as it was a month ago, but it feels like summer-warm winds, leaving work by 5pm, laying out by the pool, and lots of grilling.

Gazpacho is one of my favorite soups, and I’ve converted J as well.   When I met J he was adamant that he did not like tomato soup.  (He told me this after I served it to him on one of our first dates.)   After that experience I didn’t make it for at least two summers.  But then one day I broke down and made it, fully expecting him to take one bite and then go scrounging in the fridge for leftovers.  To my surprise, he actually liked it which I think says a lot for the recipe.  It’s crisp and cold and perfect for the summer.  It is also full of vegetable goodness.IMG_1496

The only problem is the prep time.  I’m lazy and sometimes I’m not up for finely chopping all the veges after a long day at work.  However, it tastes better after it’s been left in the fridge for a day (the flavors have time to mix) so I’m all for prepping in the morning and serving a quick meal at night.  Tonight I served it with french bread and pear hard cider.

The recipe is compliments of my mom.  She’d always make it for summer luncheons. A+ and 5 gold stars.

***********************yields 4-6 servings

  • 1 quart cold low sodium tomato or vegetable juice.  (I used V8)
  • juice of half a lemon and a whole lime
  • 2 tablespoons wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 scant teaspoon of honey (heated in microwave to liquify)
  • 1/2 small, finely minced onion
  • 2 cups freshly-diced ripe tomatoes
  • 1 cup minced green pepper
  • 1 cucumber, diced
  • 4 large green onions, chopped fine
  • raw kernels from one ear of fresh corn
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 2 large garlic cloves, minced and then crushed
  • a handful of fresh peas
  • a handful of fresh green beans, cut up
  • 1 teaspoon dried tarragon
  • 1 teaspoon fresh basil, minced
  • a dash of ground cumin
  • a dash of Tabasco sauce
  • black pepper, cayenne, and salt to taste

Boil water and blanche the peas and beans for a minute or two.  Rinse with cold water an chill in the freezer for a few minutes.

Combine all ingredients in a medium size pot or bowl.

IMG_1498

Puree a cup of the mixture in the blender to mix the flavors.

Chill and serve.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Soup, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gazpacho-cold summer vegetable soup

  1. Patty says:

    Glad you like the recipe and have reminded me of it.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

