Chicken Tikka

IMG_1134I love Indian food. What I consider Indian food is probably is a Californian interpretation.  But I’m okay with that.  I usually go out and get it from restaurant.  However, I’ve slowly accumulated all the necessary spices.  So now I can make a few dishes at home.  Tandoori fish, chicken tikka, etc.

The recipe can be found at a blog I follow “My Kitchen Cafe”.   It looked tasty so I decided to make it a couple weeks ago.  I can’t have dinner without a vegetable.  And when I’m cooking on a weeknight, I stay away from side dishes.  So I decided to add copious amount of veges to the chicken tikka…IMG_1124
Chicken Tikka Masala
from “My Kitchen Cafe” and Kylie W.

1 cup plain yogurt
1 tablespoons lemon juice
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 teaspoons cayenne pepper
2 teaspoons black pepper
1 tablespoons minced fresh ginger
1 teaspoon salt
3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

Combine all ingredients except chicken. Pour sauce over chicken and refrigerate for one hour.


IMG_1127Grill or cook chicken in frying pan. Discard marinade I baked chicken in the oven with the marinade…

1 tablespoon butter
1 clove garlic, minced
1 jalapeno pepper finely chopped
2 teaspoons ground cumin
2 teaspoons paprika
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 8-oz can tomato sauce
1 cup cream (i whipped out the soy milk again…and thickened it with a little yogurt at the end….hahaha…)
1/4 cup chopped cilantro

Melt butter in large skillet over medium heat. Saute garlic and jalapeno for one minute. Season with cumin, paprika and salt. Stir in tomato sauce and cream. Simmer on low heat until sauce thickens, about 20 minutes. Add grilled chicken and simmer for 10 minutes. IMG_1129


Garnish with fresh cilantro. Serve over hot rice.

Would I make this recipe again?  Yes!

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Indian, Meat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

