Comfort food: Chili and Homemade Bread

img_0991I was feeling a little down and cold, J made me a lovely dinner of turkey chili and fresh baked bread.  Since J doesn’t have a cooking blog and it is my recipe, I feel like I can blog about it.

Mmm…I love chili.  It is definitely one of my favorite comfort foods besides beef stew or enchiladas.  I also like that I can eat a little and be full for hours.  Which leaves lots of leftovers.  And squashes my desire to rumage through the kitchen for a midnight snack.

img_09741

Usually I can only take so many leftovers.  I’ll have the same meal for lunch the next day and maybe a snack the day after, and then I am done.  But chili is so adaptable.  Chili on bake potatoes…over rice…

As for the bread,  it was amazingly plump.  I should have J make it every week.  I’m going to start a sourdough starter soon.  And then there will be bread every week.  And muffins.  And scones.  I can’t wait.img_0985

********

  • 2 tbsp oil
  • 1 small-medium onion
  • 2 cloves garlic (chopped)
  • 1/2 lb ground turkey
  • 1  jalapeño paper (deseeded if you are a pansy like me)
  • 1 6oz can tomato paste
  • 2 cups vegetable or chicken broth
  • 1 16 oz can cuban style black beans from Trader Joe’s
  • 1 16 oz can of pinquitos
  • 1 16 oz can of white kidney beans
  • 1 16 oz can corn
  • 1 16 oz can of crushed tomatos
  • 2 tablespoons chili
  • 2 tsp cayanne pepper
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp cilantro
  • salt, black pepper to taste
  • splash of lime

-Heat oil in heavy bottom pan over medium heat. In another pan, heat chicken broth.

-Chop onion and saute until soft, ~5 mins

-Add turkey, jalapeño, and garlic cloves, breaking up turkey chunks with a wooden spoon.  When the turkey is almost cooked, season with spices.

-Add tomato paste and cook another minute.

-Pour in warmed broth and bring to a boil over high heat.

-Add drained beans, corn, and crushed tomato.  Bring to a boil.

-Reduce heat to low and simmer partially covered about 10-15 minutes. *If the chili is too soupy, remove lid and boil off liquid on medium to high heat, stirring frequently.

-Adjust seasoning and add lime juice.

-Serve with cheese, fresh cilantro, and chopped green onions.

Makes ~6 servings

img_0988

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in American, Soup. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Comfort food: Chili and Homemade Bread

  1. Patty says:

    I can almost smell the chili and tomato flavors. I’ve got to make this one.

  2. ehagood says:

    This looks delicious!

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan: Week of Oct 23rd | Origins of the Cook

  4. Pingback: Menu: Week of November 11th | Origins of the Cook

Leave a Reply

