Zucchini Fritters

My co-op has a fun flyer/program. It is called “Twelve for Forty”. Basically, they post recipes for dinner 6 nights per week for people sticking to a budget. If you follow their plan, you can make dinner for two adults for only $40. And the best part is, you don’t even have to plan meals as it is done for you. I think it is a great idea. You can save money by avoiding impulse purchases and save time by having meals planned ahead of time. While I do not follow their plan (sorry Davis Food Co-op, I do my own meal planning, following a budget of 42 for $120!), I’ve been inspired to make some of their recipes. They do not dissappoint. The meals are easy to make and everything I’ve tried has been tasty. This recipe is from the second “Twelve for Forty” ever, dating back to July 17th, 2009.

Golden fritters. Not so healthy, but I’m a sucker for almost anything that has been pan fried.
The menu recommends serving them with rice, but I wanted to mix things up a little so I mixed peas, ham, and seasonal herbs in. In retrospect, I’d say the meal was a little carb-heavy and I think the fritters would go better with a green salad with some protein (meat, nuts, tofu) mixed in.

**************

“Summer Squash Fritters”

Serves: 2

  • 2 cups grated summer squash
  • 1/2 cup minced or grated onion
  • 1/4 cup finely grated cheese
  • 1/2 cup fine bread crumbs
  • 1 egg plus 1 egg white
  • 6 tbsp flour
  • 1/2 cup half and half (I used soy milk)
  • 2-4 tbsp olive oil (I used canola b/c it is better for frying)
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper*
  • 1/4 tsp paprika*
  • 1/4 tsp salt*
*Not in recipe. I added for extra flavor.

Mix all the ingredents together in a bowl.

Heat 1 tbsp oil in cast iron pan over medium heat. Drop in batter (~1/4 cup at a time) and flatten. Cook over medium heat until golden brown (~4 mins). Flip and cook until browned. Add extra oil as necessary.

Serve warm! Unfortunately, like most fried food, these fritters are not as tasty the next day.

 

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Vegetables and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zucchini Fritters

  1. Jaime says:

    those look delicious!

Leave a Reply

