Apple Pie

I’m interrupting my zucchini series to share this seasonal dessert.

Apples might be my favorite fruit and they scream Fall to me, probably more so than pumpkin or tea. I love apple pie, apple cake, apple sauce, apple cider, hard cider, oh and apples and peanut butter (my all time favorite post workout snack).

I visited home last weekend and a family friend gave me some apples. He actually gave them to my dad, but I took a few home. They smelled amazing and were very sweet, but the texture was a bit off. Sad. I wanted to make cake, but J convinced me to make pie. Good choice. There weren’t enough apples, so I had to buy a macintosh. Here are the apples.

It is hard to make a bad apple pie. Since I do not make apple pie often, I did not have a go to recipe. I decided to go with Bittman because my mom raves about his pie. While I made his filling, I couldn’t pass up the chance to bake with my super sweet pastry pie crust. Sorry Bittman!

Here is the Bittman filling. It is very apple centered and the spices are not overpowering. Thank you J for peeling all those apples while I made the crust!

And here is the finished pie. Mmmm…*************

Apple Pie

from How To Cook Everything

  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp grated nutmeg
  • 6 apples (McIntosh, Cortland, etc)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 tbsp instant tapioca
  • 1, two-crust pie shell (refrigerated). If you are using homemade a homemade crust, split dough in half. Roll out bottom crust and put in pie pan. Roll out top crust on parchment paper and put the rolled sheet in fridge.
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • milk and sugar for brushing crust
Mix sugar, spices, and salt in large mixing bowl. Peel apples and core apples, and cut into thin slices. Toss apples with lemon juice, tapioca, and spices. 

Remove bottom crust from fridge. Fill with apple mixture. Dot with butter and cover with top crust, sealing the edges with a fork, etc and removing excess crust. Return to refrigerator.

Preheat oven to 450F.
Place pie on cookie sheet and brush with milk and sprinkle with sugar if you want. Poke a few vents in the top of the crust. Place in the oven and bake 10 minutes. Lower heat to 350F and bake another 40-50 minutes until pie crust is browned.
Remove from oven and cool on rack. Serve warm with vanilla or pumpkin ice cream. =)
About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Pie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Apple Pie

  1. Patty says:

    You make it sound quick and simple. Sometimes it all happens quickly, but if I’m talking with someone else in the kitchen, pie making seems to take forever. Sounds to me like you and Jonathon are efficiency experts in the kitchen.

  2. cookingcampus says:

    thanks. for me waiting for it to bake and doing dishes always seems to take forever.

Leave a Reply

