Coconut Tapioca Pudding

Vegan desserts have been quite appealing to me recently. I’ve been lusting after BabyCakes cookbooks and playing around with recipes in my own kitchen. I was recently sick and pudding was on the list of okay food items.

I went online and looked for recipes. Most called for eggs or corn starch as thickening agents!? Who needs a thickener when you have coconut and tapioca? I decided to make up my own recipe.

The end result? I was satisfied. Nice coconut flavor without being too sweet. I think that fresh peaches (or mango, or berries) made a nice addition. Next time I might try light coconut milk because even with the coconut water/milk mixture, it was a bit too rich for my taste.

*******

Coconut Tapioca Pudding

  • 1/4 cup minute tapioca
  • 2 cups coconut milk
  • 1 cup coconut water
  • 2 1/2 tbsp white sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste
  • 1 tsp salt
Mix tapioca, salt, coconut water, and coconut milk in a saucepan.
Bring boil over medium head. Reduce heat to low and cook, stirring constantly, until pudding thickens (approximately 12 minutes). 
Add sugar and stir until dissolved.
Remove from heat and cool slightly. Then add vanilla. Eat warm or cold. (If you put in fridge may want to cover with plastic wrap so a film doesn’t form.)
About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dessert and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

