Coriander Scallops with Orange-Ginger Dressing

This months Bon Appetit was filled with amazing recipes. While I was drawn to the casseroles, I decided to settle on this quick and healthy alternative. Luckily I had most of the ingredient on hand. Frozen ginger in the freezer, lettuce in the crisper, and a fruit bowl full of mandarines. While I am not a big fan of scallops, I love citrus and ginger, and since J is an avid seafood enthusiast, I decided to give this salad a try.

Coriander. I’ve used it powdered in Indian cooking, but I had no idea what it actually tasted like in whole form. I was pleasantly surprised by the taste. I can’t describe it. So I googled it, and found that it has a “Mediterranean flavor”. What does that even mean? Anyway, coriander is delicious and pairs well with scallops. The ginger and citrus add a nice zing.

This recipe is amazing. I highly recommend it if you are looking for a light meal. I love having big salads for dinner. The coriander coating inspired me to make coriander steak this week. The only downside is the dressing can make the lettuce slimy, so if you are planning on leftovers, do not dress the salad until you are about to eat it.

Recipe (from http://www.bonappetit.com)

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons frozen orange juice concentrate, thawed
  • 2 tablespoons white balsamic vinegar
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 2 teaspoons minced peeled fresh ginger
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 tablespoons coriander seeds, coarsely crushed in resealable bag with mallet
  • 16 sea scallops, side muscles removed
  • 8 cups mixed baby greens. I used lettuce, only because I had some already. I also added green onions and tomatoes.
  • 1 navel orange, peel and pith removed, cut between membranes into segments I used mandarins because they are easier to peel.

Preparation

  • Whisk juice concentrate, vinegar, 1 tablespoon oil, ginger, and cilantro in small bowl. Season dressing with salt and pepper.
  • Place crushed coriander seeds on plate. Sprinkle scallops with salt and pepper, then press both sides in coriander to coat. Heat 2 tablespoons oil in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add scallops and cook until golden brown and just opaque in center, 1 1/2 to 2 minutes per side.

     

  • Divide greens, orange, and scallops among 4 plates. Drizzle dressing over.

Read More here at Bon Appetit.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Fish, Salad and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

