Shepherd’s Pie

J was flipping through magazines and came across this recipe.  I had never had Shepherd’s Pie before, but was excited to try it mostly because I like to mix meat, veges, and potatoes.  One of my coworkers brought Shepherd’s Pie to work one day and I loved it, so I had high hopes.

The pie lived up to most of my expectations.  The high fat content was very pleasing, as was the creaminess of the mashed potatoes (thanks mom for the ricer!).  I have to admit that the ground beef tasted a little bland so I added oragano and thyme.  I wish I had added more salt and perhaps cumin, and maybe something to add a little heat like crushed red pepper.  Next time…  I was not pleased with the amount of dishes. When I think skillet recipe, I think one pot dinner, easy cleanup, etc.  But potatoes must be boiled, drained, and mashed.  Cheese has to be grated somewhere and veges defrosted.  It was a bit more mess than I wanted on school night but I got over it quickly once I tasted the dish.

Shepherd’s Pie

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 cup chopped yellow onion
  • 2 cups frozen corn, thawed
  • 2 cups frozen peas, thawed
  • 2 tablespoons ketchup
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon beef bouillon granules
  • ½ cup boiling water
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • ½ cup sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • pepper
  • 3-1/2 cups mashed potatoes (prepared with milk and butter)
  • ¾ cup shredded cheddar cheese

Preheat oven 375F

In a large cast iron skillet, cook beef and onion over medium heat until meat is no longer pink; drain.  Season with pepper.  Stir in corn, peas, ketchup, Worcestershire sauce and garlic.  Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl, dissolve bouillon in boiling water; set aside.  Combine cornstarch and sour cream until smooth; stir into beef mixture until blended.  Add bouillon mixture, oregano, and thyme to the pan.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat, cooking and stir until thicken.  Remove from heat.

Spread mashed potatoes over the top.  Bake in oven approx 10-15 minutes until potatoes are warmed through.

Sprinkle with cheese and return to oven.  Bake until cheese is melted and bubbly, and potatoes are begging to brown at the edges.

YIELD: 6 servings*

*This is a lie.  J and I have had it for 4 meals and there is still enough for lunch tomorrow.  I count 10 servings.

Adapted from “Taste of Home

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Casserole, Irish, Pie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

