Menu Plan: Week of Nov 6th

Oh daylight savings time, how you have snuck up on me.  It is only 9pm and I’m already ready for bed.

There isn’t really a theme this week.  The end.

************

Sunday: Ramen.  Busy weekend.  Grocery shopping did not happen until 6pm tonight so I grabbed something quick.  I threw in some bok choy and peas.  Does that cancel out all the sodium?  I might have also had some salami I impulse bought while I was waiting for my proscuitto to be sliced.  Bad.

Monday: Fettucini with spinach, proscuitto, and alfedo sauce.  I would prefer to have it with asparagus, but alas it is not in season.  Spinach is good too.  I’m pretty sure I can put any vege on pasta, slather it with white sauce, and be satisfied.

Tuesday: Lentil soup and salad.  I want to eat more non-meat protein.  There is a huge jar of lentils in the pantry just waiting to be eaten.  Sadly, I have yet to find a lentil recipe that I like.  They always end up tasting like chalk, never like they do in Indian restaurants.  But here I am trying again, this time with a curry lentil soup.  America’s Test Kitchen has consistently good recipes, so I am hopeful.  This meal will also showcase my first fall harvest of lettuce from the garden.

Wednesday: Arugula salad with skirt steak, fingerling potatoes, onions, and feta.  I’ve made this salad before and I love it!  My arugula is still tiny so I had to pick some up from the market.  Bo.

Thursday: Shepherds pie.  This recipe is from a magazine devoted to comfort food from better home and garden or something like that.  I bought on impulse while standing in super market line.  It’s been over a year and I don’t think I’ve cooked anything from it.  I originally wanted to make chicken pot pies, but got lazy and settled on shepherd’s pie.  Nom nom nom.

Friday: Date night!  Last week J and I were too tired to drive all the way out to Sac for pizza so we got yummy udon takeout and collapsed on the couch instead.  We are going to try to make it out of the house.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Menu Plan. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Menu Plan: Week of Nov 6th

  1. SP says:

    hey which lentils do you have? are they yellow split peas (chalky) or pigeon peas (indian lentils?) I hope it works out good for you this time.

  2. cookingcampus says:

    hm. they are a brownish color. i think they are indian lentils.

Leave a Reply

