Caramel Apples

When I saw this recipe for caramel apples on the Bon Appetit website, I knew I had to make them.  And fast.  Luckily Halloween was less than a week away and I had an invite to a dinner party/game night.  It was a toss up between caramel apple cheesecake squares and caramel apples.  I am so happy I decided to go with this simple, yet flavorful treat.

These candy apples are so good.  The crisp, tart granny smith apples pair perfectly with the sweet and sticky caramel.  The caramel itself has a very complex flavor.  There is even a hint of molasses.  If I had had caramel apples as a child, I imagine this is what I would have wanted them to taste like.

I took the apples to the dinner party and they were a big hit.  The leftovers were also enjoyed by my coworkers.  The recipe makes way more caramel than is needed.  I poured it in a buttered pan and left it at work.  Within a day or two, it was all gone.  

I don’t have the best track record when it comes to making candy so I stressed out a lot while I was making them.  A year or so back I tried to make a syrup and somehow heated it too high.  When I poured it into my stand mixer it seized up immediately.  Sharp shards of sugar flew everywhere.  I wanted to die.  Well not quite.  But it was a miserable experience.  I blame the cooking thermometer.  As a wedding present, I got a gift certificate to a cooking store.  I decided to spend the money on a quality digital candy thermometer.  I don’t know whether it was the thermometer or caramels forgiving nature, but making these was a breeze.

Even though I think caramel apples are considered seasonal, apples are after all Fall fruit, I think these can be enjoyed year round.  I prefer to have mine with plain caramel, chilled in the fridge, but you could drizzle them with chocolate or dot them with candy.  If you are looking to make some sort of candy for the holidays, I highly recommend this recipe.  I definitely plan on making these again before Christmas.

Enjoy!

You can find the recipe here: Caramel Apples

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

