Bread Salad

This is one of my go to recipes during the summer months.  I get bunches and bunches of basil from my CSA.  I can only stand so much pesto.  But J and I never seem to get tired of bread, tomatoes, onions, and basil drizzled with vinegar and olive oil.

This is perfect alongside sausage or chicken breast.  It is also seemed popular at potlucks I’ve attended.  The only downside is the bread gets soggy and gross after a night in the fridge.  Thankfully, the salad is good enough that there are never many leftover.

Panzanella

From Williams-Sonoma’s Savoring Italy

  • 2 tomatoes, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 small cucumber, peeled and sliced
  • 1 small red onion, thinly slices
  • 1 cup fresh basil leaves, torn into small pieces
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons red wine vinegar for more bold flavor use balsamic
  • salt and pepper
  • 6-8 slices of coarse country bread
  • I often throw in bell peppers or whatever else I have onhand

In a bowl, combine the tomatoes, cucumber, onion, and torn basil.  Drizzle with olive oil and vinegar.  Season with salt and pepper.  Toss well to coat evenly.

Tear bread into bite-sized pieces.  Place half the bread in a wide, shallow bowl.  Spoon on half of the veges.  Layer the remaining bread on top and then the remaining veges.  Cover and refrigerate 1 hour.

Toss the salad, then taste and adjust the seasonings.  If the bread is dry, add a little more oil or vinegar.  Garnish with a few basil leaves.  Serve immediately.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Salad and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bread Salad

  1. Pingback: Week Menu Plan and My First Chard! « Origins of the Cook

  2. Pingback: How My Garden Grows: Spring 2011 « Di Mortui Sunt

  3. Pingback: How My Garden Grows: Summer 2011 « Di Mortui Sunt

Leave a Reply

