Lemon Poppy Seed Cake with Rasberry Curd Filling

IMG_1741Yes I do bake on occasion.  And the occasion was my housewarming party.  And I wanted to bake a cake.  A small cake (as I asked the guests to bring dessert), but a cake nonetheless.  While raspberries might be in season somewhere up north, all the berries in my area withered with the 100F heat we were greeted with in early June.  I made it anyway and it was very yummy.  The acidity of the lemon and raspberry complimented the sweet butter-cream frosting well.   Some people thought it was too sweet, but I thought it was perfect.   There was a lot of curd leftover.  Next time I will make three layers and spread the curd on thicker so it is less cakey and more fruity.  All in all, A+ and 5 gold stars.  I will definitely make this recipe next year when I can pick fresh raspberries at Impossible Acres.

The recipe can be found here at Annie’s Eats.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Cake, Dessert and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

