Indian-spiced chicken kebabs with cilantro-mint chutney (and chipotle rice)

IMG_1721My friends Sarah and Zac gave me The Bon Appetite Cookbook as a wedding/housewarming gift.  I couldn’t be happier.  I’ve tried many recipes already (french onion soup, chipotle mashed potatoes…) and I have been pleased with all of them.  I chose to make this recipe first because I enjoy flavorful foods with an ethnic flare. I think this recipe delivers (for the most part).  The chicken was tender and deliciously spicy.  The chutney on the other hand left something to be desired.  Did I mention I hate mint?  And the cilantro, jalapeno, and lemon juice did nothing to mask the flavor.  Bummer.  I served the recipe with chipotle rice, which couldn’t be easier to make.  J threw a chipotle smoked in banana leaves in the rice cooker with a little salt.  Mmm….chipotle.  Oh yes, and the obligatory green vegetable, straight from our CSA box.

The recipe can be found below or at the epicurious website here.

*******************

“Indian-spiced chicken kebabs with cilantro-mint chutney”

(~24, 2 inch cubes.  This barely served three people.  I’d recommend doubling the amount of chicken.)

Chutney

  • 1/2 cup (packed) fresh mint leaves
  • 1/2 cup (packed) fresh cilantro leaves
  • 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 2 1/2 tbsp minced ginger
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and minced
  • 2 tbsp plain yogurt

Chicken

  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 3 tbsp tikka paste
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (I used a couple more)
  • 2 tsp minced ginger
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 small white onion, diced (this wasn’t in the recipe, but I thought it was a nice addition)
  • 1 1/2 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts cut into cubes
  • 24 6″ bamboo skewers, soaked in water 30 minutes
  • limes

FOR CHUTNEY: Blend mint, cilantro, lemon, ginger, jalapeno, and yogurt in blender or processor until smooth.  Cover and refrigerate.

IMG_1716

FOR CHICKEN: Whisk yogurt, tikka paste, olive oil, garlic, ginger, onion, and pepper in bowl.  Add chicken and coat. Cover and refrigerate at least 2 hours (up to 12 hours).IMG_1714IMG_1715

…And here is where I stopped following the recipe.  The recipe wants you to:

Preheat broiler.  Thread 1 chicken piece onto each skewer.  Cover exposed part of skewer with foil.  Broil chicken until cooked through, turning occasionally, about 8 minutes.  Serve.

I packed as many chicken pieces would fit on my 12″ skewers and then cooked over a medium-high flame on my lovely grill pan.

IMG_1718Bon Appetit recommended serving the chicken on a bed of lettuce and cucumber.  While I’m not much for presentation, I’m all for hearty meals with a nice balance of protein, carbs, and veges.  Enjoy!

IMG_1720

On second thought cucumbers might be a cool compliment to the spicy meat.  No lettuce.  I like to eat everything on my plate and wilted lettuce does not sound appetizing.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Indian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Indian-spiced chicken kebabs with cilantro-mint chutney (and chipotle rice)

  1. pocketmouse says:

    You can also use that chutney to marinate chicken in to make another set of kababs. I think it’s usually referred to as “Hariyali” kabab in India.

    Hara/Hari/etc means GREEN usually. ;)

  2. Volt says:

    Cool Recipes from all over the world. Create meals that will wow your friends and family over? Don’t reinvent the wheel, make proper use of it!

Leave a Reply

