Vegetable Stir Fry

IMG_1550

I’m trying to eat less meat and more veges for environmental as well as health reason.  Because I lead an active lifestyle and I need my protein, I’ve turned to tofu or other bean products on nights I don’t eat meat.

Tofu is not for everyone, but luckily I love it.  Raw, cooked, whatever.  I’ll even eat unseasoned soybeans.  I used to make soy-milk from scratch and on occasion I’d take the soybeans straight out of the boiling pot and eat them.

For those people who are on the fence about tofu, stir-fries might be a good starter meal because the tofu absorbs all the yummy seasonings.  Also, firm tofu isn’t as slimy, which I can be a deal breaker for some people.

…And the best thing about stir fries is you can throw in whatever vege you have on hand.  It’s a great way to clean out the fridge!

Here is a list of what I used.

  • 1 block firm tofu
  • 2 summer squash (one yellow and one green)
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 large bunch bok choy
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 2 tsp fresh ginger (grated)
  • sweet chili sauce
  • soy sauce
  • 1 tsp of dijon mustard
  • canola oil
  • sesame oil

Heat a couple tbsp of canola to wok over medium heat.

Saute onions for a few minutes until tender.

IMG_1539Add garlic and ginger and saute until golden brown (approx 2 minutes).  (Some people remove the ginger at this point, but I always leave it in. If you are going to take out the ginger, slice it instead of grating.)

Add veges (squash, bell pepper) and saute until tender.  If veges start to dry out, add a splash of warm water.  (I added tofu at this point too.  If you aren’t using extra firm tofu you might want to hold off a bit.)

IMG_1542

Add sauce to the wok and bring to a boil.  Throw in bok choy stem and cook until tender.

IMG_1543

Wilt leafy greens.

IMG_1546IMG_1547

Serve over rice or noodles.  Enjoy!IMG_1551

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Vegetables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vegetable Stir Fry

  1. Patty says:

    Looks wonderfully healthy, and those fresh squashes are never better than right now, in late summer. I’ve been frying them diced with onion, garlic, and a few cherry tomato halves to serve with spicy lentils and rice, some chopped hard boiled egg on top.

Leave a Reply

