Peach Handpie

IMG_1536

Apricot season is over and now on to peaches!  These pies don’t look like much but they are actually quite good.  The pastry is flaky and the filling is delicious.  If you have the time I’d definitely recommend giving these pies a try if you are sick of cobbler (like I am).  These aren’t at all like store bought pies.  Same idea, but the taste and texture is completely different.  The peach flavor really comes through.  And I was very surprised by how much I liked the sour cream pastry.

This recipe is long but is fairly fool proof.  When I made these pies I was having one of those days when everything goes wrong in the kitchen.  Even with some creative mistakes, a tasty dessert popped out of the oven.  The entire batch was gone within a day.  =)  Dessert…breakfast…and then dessert again.  I would recommend serving them warm.

Here is where I went wrong:

  1. I made the dough the night before and refrigerated it overnight.  All good.  Then the next day I decided to start baking after 9pm.  Tisk tisk.  Somehow when I checked the recipe I didn’t notice it called for parchment paper.  I didn’t have any and was too lazy to go to the store.  Even though I religiously followed all the chill steps, the dough was a little sticky.  Without parchment paper it warmed up quickly and stuck to just about everything.
  2. I don’t always measure things like vanilla or salt.  The recipe called for a teaspoon of bourbon.  My hand slipped while I was pouring and I ended up pouring in about a 1/4 cup.  I contemplated starting over but didn’t want to waste all the peaches.  IMG_1535
  3. I am greedy and tend to over-stuff things.  At this point the filling was already overly liquid.  When cooked, a fair amount of juices spilled out and burned to the baking sheet.  Bummer.

Mistakes aside, I still ended up with yummy hand pies, albeit ugly ones.  I don’t know that this will be my go to peach recipe, but I will make it again sometime.

You can find the recipe on Smitten Kitchen.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Pie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

