Menu: Week of July 18th

IMG_1613

This summer I’ve been traveling every weekends so it’s been hard to cook every night and keep up with my CSA deliveries (not to mention this blog).   And when I do have time to cook I am tired so I’ve been sticking to food I am familiar with.  (At one time I used to try a new recipe every day.  Those days are over, at least for now.)  I’ve even considered canceling my CSA subscription, but I decided that it would be better to eat veges raw than go out to eat.  It’s been slightly liberating experiencing new things and doing things outside my comfort zone,  but I feel so scattered.  Every other day I am packing a duffel bag and heading off somewhere.  I miss being at home….baking, yoga, saturday farmers market, hanging out with J, games or bar nights with friends, and even cleaning the house.  This fall I have big plans for staying in Davis (except my trip to Japan!!!!! and a conference I have to attend in Monterey).  I will have a new house to organize and hopefully I’ll be getting a dog soon so I can’t just pack up and go.

CSA box:

  • Corn
  • A weird looking cucumber
  • Garlic
  • Basil
  • Heirloom tomatoes
  • Peaches
  • 2 kinds of melons
  • Zuccini
  • Potatoes

DINNER MENU

Friday July 17th: I hiked to Half Dome with my cousins!  17.4 miles round trip and we did it in 8 hours (the recommended is 10-14) with a 2 hour break for lunch.  It was killer.  I should have eaten dinner (chili), but didn’t… I had a watermelon popsickle and some ginger ale.  I was also supposed to camp for another two days, but was grumpy and sick and went home so J could pamper me.  I woke up the next morning and didn’t feel as bad as I expected (badly bruised feet and minor leg aches) and now I regret bailing.  But the bath last night was lovely.  I think I’ll do the hike again, but this time I will take my sweet time coming down and swim at every river I come across on the way down.

IMG_1615

The mist trail and Vernal Falls.  The mist felt lovely.IMG_1625One of the before-mentioned streams.  IMG_1629The cables.  I climbed up half way (right about where it is vertical) and decided that I didn’t want to see the top without a harness.

Sat-Pasta salad (cucumbers, basil, tomatoes) and fruit salad (peaches, apple, melon, grapes)

Sunday- Friends are coming for dinner…there will be grilling and hopefully I’ll whip up a peach brioche.

Monday-Keeping it simple…baked potatoes and salad

Tuesday-Chipotle and cilantro paninis with a side salad.

Wednesday-Zucchini fritters, salmon, and rice.

Thursday-Turkey avocado burgers and corn on the cob.

Friday-Burritos (gotta use up those chipotles and cilantro)

************

On another note, as of last week my local Co-op started posting weekly dinner menus for two-everything on the menu for $40.  They list all the recipes, nutritional value, ingredients, etc.  I think it is a great idea.  This week I’m going to try their zucchini fritters.  Whenever I hear people complaining about the price of food.  I always wonder what they are buying.  Cooking doesn’t have to be expensive if you buy fresh items/bulk.  My weekly menu is a bit more expensive than the co-ops suggestion, mostly because I buy meat and wine and I also make enough food for lunch the next day too.  On average I spend $500/month..$98 on CSA and $80-100 per week at the grocery store.  And now for some math: 2 people x 3 meals per day x 7 days per week x 4 weeks per month=168.  500/168= ~$3 per meal.  And I even shop at what most people would consider the expensive hippy organic market.  You can barely buy a TV dinner at Safeway for that.  So yeah, here is my plug for not buying processed food.  It may be convenient, but that extra hour spent in the kitchen will save you a lot and probably be healthier too. And I’ve found that the people at my local grocery store are way nicer.  You can taste just about anything before you buy it. And the employees remember you and will tell you what is best to eat.

On that note, have a lovely week.  I’m off to cook dinner and then have another bath.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Menu Plan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Menu: Week of July 18th

  1. Patty says:

    I enjoyed reading your budget breakdown, and I concur that home cooking is cheaper, healthier, and more connected to the real world than simply buying pre-processed foods. I’m getting to the point of wanting to make my own yogurt, a task that I used to do easily and often. You just set it up at night and by morning you have yogurt. With an additional step, home-made yogurt becomes a spreadable ‘Farmer’ cheese, especially delicious with herbs added.

Leave a Reply

