Green Tea Muffins

IMG_1509

J has had a very stressful month at work. Budget crisis…working long hours and weekends… I thought I’d send him to work tomorrow with a tasty treat to share with his office and hopefully lighten the mood. I wanted something breakfasty and easy and not overly sweet. And that is how I ended up making these flavorful muffins.

I’m a green tea flavor fanatic…tea, liquor, ice cream, and muffins!!!! Trader Joe’s used to carry this wonderful green tea muffin mix. Just add water, or oil, or whatever… Super simple, and surprisingly good. (I’m not a big fan of boxed cakes…) But like so many of the products at Trader Joe’s, they don’t last long. (I still check the baking section every time I go in just in case.) So I finally broke down and bought my own matcha powder. $95/lb at the local co-op!?!?!?!

I googled “Green Tea Muffins” and came up with the same bland-looking recipe: flour, baking soda, milk, sugar, eggs, butter, and green tea powder. I wanted to spice it up a little so I added nutmeg and almond extract.

Success. The muffins are moist and not overly sweet. Next time I might add amaretto or a crumb topping as they are still a bit boring. And the verdict is they are better than the TJs variety.

Green Tea Muffins

8-12 muffins

2 cups unbleached all purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 cup sugar
2 egg, slightly beaten
1 cup soy milk
1/2 cup melted butter
2 teaspoon matcha powder
a pinch of nutmeg
1/2 tsp almond extract
a dash of salt

Preheat the oven to 350°F.

Butter muffin pans. (I used liners)

Mix the flour, matcha powder, baking soda, salt, and nutmeg in a large bowl. Set aside.

Beat butter until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, sugar, and almond extract and mix well.

With a spatula, fold in flour mixture and milk until dough is damp but not smooth. **The batter should be lumpy.

Spoon into the muffin pans, filling each cup about 2/3 full. (This is a bit of a challenge as the batter is very sticky…)

Bake for about 25 to 30 minutes each or until toothpick inserted comes out clean.

***Muffins may have a slight bitter after taste, but that’s the way I like em…

Filling the muffin tins…
IMG_1505
Look, Oobleck!
IMG_1507

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Japanese, Muffins and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Green Tea Muffins

  1. pocketmouse says:

    they are better than TJ’s right? you missed a word there! they look good!!! Never seen green muffins before!!

  2. cookingcampus says:

    they are better…thanks for catching my mistake. You should make them sometime. I bet you could use yogurt, corn starch+fruit mix, or tofu instead of eggs. (I know how you don’t like cakes because they use too many eggs.)

  3. Harry says:

    Amazing coincidence. We just flew back from Japan on June 30 and I see you posted your green tea muffin recipe on the same date. My wife and I were waiting for our flight out of Kansai Airport, Osaka in the Northwest Airlines Club room. They were serving green tea muffins with Azuki (red) sweet beans on top. My wife went crazy over them and she insisted we try to find the recipe. I searched the internet and found your recipe. I looks good and we will give it a try

  4. pocketmouse says:

    haha yeah@eggs. I’ll definitely keep those substitutes in mind. will try these out sometime. its getting too hot to use the oven!!

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan: Week Aug 8th « Origins of the Cook

  6. Steph says:

    Ah thank you for the recipe. I noticed you mentioned using tofu instead of eggs. I was wondering how you’d do that. I’d be grateful if you could mail me back.

    • cookingcampus says:

      Hi Steph,

      Silken soft tofu can be used as an egg replacer. 1/4 cup tofu = 1 egg. Make sure you use the softest variety available and blending/food process it well so there is no lumps. Tofu tends to make baked good on the heavier side, so expect your muffins to be a bit more dense and perhaps moist.

Leave a Reply

