Strawberry Ice Cream

IMG_1231I love ice cream.  Warm weather, cold weather.  It doesn’t matter.  I will eat it any time, any day.  A while ago my mother bought me a Cuisinart ice cream maker.  It was the perfect gift, but I have to say I do not take enough advantage of it.  I always forget to freeze the drum or I find an yummy recipe only to find it utilizes uncooked eggs (eeewww).  But it is summer now and I wanted to experiment.  The first batch for this season-light and fluffy strawberry ice cream.

For the past few weeks we’ve been receiving the most delicious strawberries in our CSA basket.  We’ve eaten them fresh and  frozen some for smoothies.  And turned the rest into ice cream which we devoured in less than 24 hours (it was that good!).

You can find the recipe at “Sweet and Savory Eats” or here:

Strawberry Ice Cream
2 cups fresh ripe strawberries, stemmed and sliced (i didn’t cut them up small enough…)
3 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 cup sugar, divided
1 cup whole milk
2 cups heavy cream
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract (I used a little more…)

  1. Combine the strawberries with the lemon juice and 1/3 cup of the sugar; stir gently and allow the strawberries to macerate in the juices for 2 hours.
  2. In another bowl, use a hand mixer to combine the milk and granulated sugar until the sugar is dissolved. Stir in the heavy cream, the vanilla and any accumulated juices from the strawberries.
  3. Pour the mixture into the ice cream maker (in my case a frozen bowl).
  4. Freeze per ice cream maker instructions, adding strawberries in the last 5 minutes.

The ice cream is very soft and can be firmed in the fridge.  J liked it straight out of the ice cream maker, while I preferred to have it compact overnight.

IMG_1238

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Ice cream and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

