“Drunken Pasta” compliments of Rachel Ray

img_1017

Okay, I admit it. I watch food network whenever I turn on my television.  I don’t usually have much time to watch tv on weekdays, but during Winter Break I had nothing to do and I kind of ODed.  Food networked aired this holiday Iron Chef America episode from a few years ago.  It featured Rachel Ray (the annoying 30-minute meal chick) and Giada (the hottie from food network).  I don’t normally take notice of Rachel Ray recipes, but pasta cooked in wine looked appealing.  And I had boxed wine to get rid of.

img_1012

This meal was actually inspired by multiple ingredients that needed to be removed from the fridge.  Leftover pesto, half n half from chicken pot pies which I will blog about soon…   I absolutely love basil pesto.  For a while during the summer I would bring pesto based anything to potlucks.   And I like the idea of pasta with the wine twist.  Honestly, I don’t think  it added much. Most of the wine flavor was not absorbed by the pasta and what remained was slightly bitter and peppery.  It was yummy, but I think I could have replicated the flavor by tossing in some swiss cheese, more black pepper, or chopped bell pepper.  And cooking with that much wine seems a little wasteful.  But if you happen to have any fronzia lying around your kitchen, I’d recommend giving it a try.

  1. 1 lb pasta
  2. 1 cup pesto
  3. 2 cups frozen veges-i used peas and green beans
  4. 1/2 parmisian cheese
  5. 1 onion
  6. 1 clove garlic
  7. 2 tbsp half n half
  8. 2 tbsp chopped flat leaf parsley
  9. crushed red pepper

-Fill pot with a couple of bottles of wine.  I cheated and added one bottle of French Rabbit and topped it off with water.

img_1014

-Cook pasta as directed on package and set aside.

img_1015img_1016

-In a heavy bottom pan, saute onions in olive oil ~5 minutes.

-Add garlic, and saute until garlic starts to turn golden ~2 minutes.

-Mix in veges and cook until warm and slightly tender, but not overcooked.

-Add pasta, pesto, and seasoning.  Warm through on medium heat and serve.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Italian, Pasta and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

