Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

img_1004Still feeling a big down and lazy.  It is hard to get motivate to spend a week in lab when everyone else is away on vacation.  So I decided to bake something to cheer myself up after work.  There is nothing better than dirtying every dish in the house to make an evening better.  Just kidding.  (I have way too many dishes.  I couldn’t go through all of them in one night.  =P)  I was flipping through cookbooks and couldn’t decide whether to make pecan bars or pineapple upside down cake.  I had all the ingredients for pecan bars (leftover corn syrup and pounds of pecans from Thanksgiving), but I wanted something fruity.  While I didn’t have pineapple, I decided to brave the cold and go to the store.  (While I was there I picked up orange jello.  See, I really was craving sour fruit-inspired products.)

The cake was beautiful, with just the right amount of moisture.  Despite its flat appearance, it was actually light and fluffy.  As for taste, it satisfied my sweet tooth.  But I came away from the whole experience feeling that something was lacking.  I’m not sure what pineapple upside down cake is supposed to taste like (I’ve only had it once before), but somehow I imagined less caramel and more pineapple flavor.

img_0998

And then there was the business of getting the cake from the cast iron skillet onto the plate.  I might have been a bit impatient to eat it and flipped it a little early, which made molten sugar fly everywhere.  But there was still plenty left over to pool on top of the cake.  And now the fun part…getting the butter out of my sweats.

img_0999

img_1000

Doesn’t it look dark and mysterious?

*************************************************

And now for the recipe…

I was browsing through the cooking section of our local used book store.  It is a small section, containing at most 100 books.  I came across “DESSERTS mouthwatering recipes for delectable dishes” and bought it because 1) it was $5 and 2) it had pretty pictures.  Neither of these are good reason to buy a cook book, but whatever.  I rarely make desserts.  I’ve had the book for over 6 months and this is the first recipe I’ve tried.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1 can (16 oz) pineapple slices, drained
  • 4 eggs, separated
  • grated rind of 1 lemon
  • salt
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

-Preheat over to 350F.  Melt butter in an ovenproof cat-iron frying pan, about 10″ in diameter.  Remove 1 tablespoon of the melted butter and set aside

-Add the brown sugar to the frying pan and stir until blended.

img_0992

-Place drained pineapple slices on top in one layer.  Remove from heat.

img_0993-In a bowl, whisk together the egg yolks, reserved butter, and lemon rind until smooth.

-In another, larger bowl, beat theegg whites with salt until stiff.  Fold in the granulated sugar, 2 tablespoons at a time.  Fold in the egg yold mixture.

-Sift the flour and baking powder together.  Fold into the egg mixture in three batches.

-Pour the batter over the pineapple and smooth level.

-Bake until a cake tester comes out clean, about 30 minutes.

-While still hot, flip.

****************************

The book is on amazon for $0.78.  Looks like I didn’t get such a good deal afterall.  Hahha.  But I’m supporting local business and I don’t have to pay for shipping.   Not that I would have ever thought to look for a dessert book online. Yay for impulisive purchases.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Cake, Dessert and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

  1. J says:

    I thought it tasted great!

Leave a Reply

