Community Supported Agriculture

My first CSA basket. I can’t express how excited I am.   Look at all the wonderful fresh produce from Eatwell Farm.  A large bunch of chard, grapes, 4 plums, 3 nectarines, a boquet of geraniums, chives, 3 yams, a small pumpkin, and tomatoes, tomatoes, tomatoes.  All locally grown and all organic!  Oh, and did I mention it is relatively inexpensive? The produce isn’t completely blemish free, but I’d rather eat something that is so yummy it was munched on by an insect than a perfect tomatoes that is smothered in synthetic pesticides.

As I mentioned in my Impossible Acres post, I try to support local farmers and be socially responsible by eating in season food.  And I like the challenge.  What better way to test my cooking skills than receiving a mystery box weekly and being forced to plan delicious meals around it?

Tonight’s dinner featured the chard and tomatoes.  Pasta with greens chicken sausage, with a side of bruscetta.

It isn’t much to look at but it was amazing!

Too many wheat-based products, but I have to spoil myself sometimes.

Chard pasta

1 onion, 2 cloves garlic, 4 cups chopped chard, 3 sausages, pasta (i used udon), white sauce, crushed red pepper, salt, pepper, thyme, olive oil.

-Prepare pasta

-Chop chard, onions, and sausage
-Saute onion in 2 tbps olive oil until tender
-Add sausage and saute until sausage almost cooked
-Add garlic and cook another 1 min
-Add chard and saute until cooked

-Combine pasta, white sauce, chard mix, and seasoning

Stay tuned for my plans with pumpkin.  It is too hot (85F) for soup.  I’m thinking muffins, cookies, or cake…

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Green, Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

