All things domestic

Here I am going to grad school, working in a plant genetics lab, and the only things I excel at are “domestic” activities.

I quilt:

And make candels:

And cook of course.

How do I motivate myself to put this much effort into studying…?

I like to browse the interwebs looking for recipes and craft ideas to procrastinate. By following links I arrived at a blog called girl talk.  Not what I expected… These are some  scary families.  From what I’ve read, it is an antifeminist and pro-submissive advice blog on how to train your daughters to be future homemakers.  I’m fine with god telling you that it is your duty to be a housewife.  And teaching your children to cook and clean is important, even in a society filled with fast food and frozen dinners.  Even I’ve considered the benefits of being a stay at home mom.  But to put up a picture of an adorale two year old and say that your own child is full of sin, is fucked up beyond belief.   And to say that your boy children should not be forced to clean or learn how to cook because “Sons have a different career to prepare for” is evil.  Double stands.  The country is falling into the dark ages.  This isn’t a criticism of religion.  J’s parents are very devout but they still involved both the boys and girls in household activities and promote education before babies.  And I think both parents and children are better for it.

I will stop here and say how happy I am that J knows how to cook.  It’s so much more fun making dinner as a couple.  And when I’m stressed or tired, I still get to come home to a healthy, homecooked meal.  And I’m happy that my mom trained me to be a homemaker.  And all while she was a single, working mom.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All things domestic

  1. Sally (reid's wife) says:

    Hi D! Your perspective gives me hope! Enjoy your time, no matter.

  2. Lovely post! I love to cook. It’s relaxing and creative, and as I cook I talk to my family. They often help: it’s a priceless activity which tastes great at the end!

Leave a Reply

