Fish tacos

If I had to pick an ethnic food to cook, I would make something Mexican hands down. When I was little my father took me to Baja California at least once a year. We’d rent a volkswagon bug and travel the countryside with tent and surfboard in hand. We’d usually camp on the beach and I’d often get fish tacos from roadside vendors. They were amazingly delicious. I didn’t normally like fish, but deep-fried anything is yummy. (Ok, maybe that isn’t completely true. I went to New Zealand once and got very sick off fish and chips. I will not touch them to date.) Anyway… Let’s suffice to say the fish taco were good and the guacamole, which was the consistency of cream, added to their allure.

Now that I am older, and can no longer pop over to Mexico to get yummy food (the food in Davis doesn’t compare) I have to make them at home.


Guacamole:
avocados
1tbsp sour cream
1tsp adobo sauce from a can of chipotle chiles in adobo sauce
(You can add a chopotle chile chopped if you are feeling adventerous or EXTRA spicy)
1tsp lime juice
spike

-Mash all ingredients together. Add spike to taste.


Pico de Gallio
(Taken from William-Sonoma Savoring Mexico)
~2 cups salsa

1lb tomatoes, cut into small pieces
1/3 cup white onion
1/4 cup chopped cilantro
2 serrano chiles, deseeded and finely chopped
2 teaspoons fresh lime juice
salt to taste

Fish Taco:
~6 tacos

1lb fish (I recommend mahi-mahi or tilapia)
1/2 cup flour or fine bread crumbs
1 egg
salt and ground pepper
a pinch of dried thyme
1/4 cup oil (for frying)

Corn tortillas
Chopped cabbage
Salsa
Guacamole
2 limes

-Slice fish into thin strips
-Beat egg
-Spread flour or crumbs on plate and season with pepper plus herbs (if you like more flavor)
-Heat oil in heavy bottom frying pan
-Dip fish in egg and then roll in flour mixture, evenly coating both sides
-Fry until golden brown on both sides
-Drain on paper towels
-Assemble tacos by placing fish on pre-warmed tortillas (I used a microwave)
-Top with Cabbage, guacamole, salsa, and lime juice.
You might want to add sour creme too. However, I didn’t because I’m not very found of it.

About cookingcampus

I'm a graduate student trying to stay happy and busy and pursue the things I love.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Mexican and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

